The EU can be our best tool in the fight against corruption, money laundering and tax evasion. But it must also be used in the right way. In the future, the EU should fight corruption much more decisively. That is why I have set up an Intergroup against corruption in the European Parliament.

35,000 lobbyists are attempting to influence EU laws. Commissioners switch position into the private sector. MPs work as lobbyists on a part-time basis. From my time at Transparency International I know that the EU is still better than the member states in many respects.  However, there is also a need for far more transparency in the EU.

Climate catastrophe, companies that pay no taxes, the impact of digitalisation – no single country can solve these problems alone. For this we need a strong European Union that is capable of taking action. For the Greens/European Free Alliance, I am responsible for leading the work on the conference on the future of the EU.

.

2827
Roll call votes since my election in 2019
126
Lobby meetings I have disclosed so far
9
Dossiers or laws for which I have been a Green negotiator so far

Klimakatastrophe, Konzerne, die keine Steuern zahlen, die Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung – kein Land kann diese Probleme alleine lösen. Dafür brauchen wir eine starke und handlungsfähige Europäische Union. Für die Grünen leite ich die Arbeit zur Konferenz zur Zukunft der EU.

35.000 Lobbyisten versuchen EU-Gesetze zu beeinflussen. Kommissare wechseln in die Wirtschaft. Abgeordnete arbeiten nebenher als Lobbyisten. Aus meiner Zeit bei Transparency International weiss ich, dass die EU an vielen Stellen besser ist als die Mitgliedsstaaten. Aber auch: es braucht noch viel mehr Transparenz in der EU.

Die EU kann unser bestes Werkzeug sein im Kampf gegen Korruption, Geldwäsche und Steuerflucht. Aber man muss es auch richtig einsetzen. In Zukunft sollte die EU Korruption noch viel entschiedener bekämpfen. Deshalb habe ich im Europäischen Parlament die fraktionsübergreifende Arbeitsgruppe gegen Korruption gegründet.

Meine Heimat – Aachen in Nordrhein-Westfalen – liegt im Herzen Europas. Ob Tihange, Hambacher Forst oder Datteln-4: Die Zukunft unseres Planeten entscheidet sich auch direkt vor Ort in unserer Region. Ich leite zusammen mit Alexandra Geese die Delegation der Grünen Europaabgeordneten aus NRW.

 

1929
Namentliche Abstimmungen seit meiner Wahl 2019
109
Lobbytreffen, die ich bisher offengelegt habe
9
Dossiers oder Gesetze, für die ich bisher Grüner Verhandlungsführer war